Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (OWWWWWWW)

As I needed to include some weight training, yesterday I decided to do my Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD, workout 1.  Yes, the easiest one – I’ve yet to move beyond it.

I’ve been doing minimal weight training – nearly nothing – and it’s been a while since I’ve done the Shred.  Holy hell.  It ALL hurts right now, and if Mike will ever get out of bed, I can go upstairs and try a yoga DVD, I really need to stretch this all out.

Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (or DOMS) occurs during eccentric, or lengthening exercise, as the body’s reaction to prevent muscle damage if the activity is repeated.  It’s been observed that accompanying DOMS are disruptions in the protein chains (myofilaments) that make up muscle fibers and damage to the muscle’s connective tissue.

So basically, under duress, the weaker muscle experiences teeny tiny tares, or ripping, and it knots itself back again, stronger.  Naturally, it’s inflamed during due to the trauma.  That’s my dumbassed translation, anyway.  As awful as DOMS can be, it means I’m getting stronger.  It also means that a lot of energy is going to mending that muscle and feeding it, so my metabolism fires up and I’m burning calories just by sitting here having a sore muscle.  :)

One thought on “Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness (OWWWWWWW)

Leave a Reply

