Find a Penny, Pick It Up…

I go for a run pretty much every day I can, it’s a nice perk of working from home. I do two to four miles, depending on what I’ve got going on that day. I don’t run the whole thing, I run/walk – endurance has never been my strength, and interval training is good for you. So I use my Polar FT60 heart rate monitor to help me know when to slow down and when to speed up.

The only thing that will chase me off is a super busy day, gusty cold winds, and rain – I’m pretty cat-like in my desire to not get damp.

If you’d told me a couple of years ago that I’d enjoy this, I’d laugh. I used to crack that the only reason I’d run is to put out the fire. Or for vodka. I started this year because I really wanted to take the weight off; I’d reached 164 pounds by end of July and was done with it. And it was a cooler summer than usual, so I could run outside as opposed to my treadmill in the basement.

And something odd happened – I realized I liked it. I started to get better at it, and the periods in which I had to slow down to a fast walk became more infrequent and shorter. I’ve never been competitive, and I’ve never challenged myself. I’m sort of sloth-y. So there I am – I tell myself I will run to the fence, then walk. And I run past the fence. I tell myself I will slow down at the sign post, but I blow past it. And eventually I get myself permission to slow down to a fast walk and I catch my breath and I smile, because it’s important to smile when you are happy with yourself.

The weight has come off, and my legs are sculpted in a way I didn’t think possible. But that’s not my favorite thing about running. When I challenge myself and rise to it and even beat it, even by a little, I sort of feel like a winner. I realize I can do something. I’m not really sure what to call it yet because I don’t know what it is. But it feels good, so I took a running selfie of me.

FREEZY HAPPY RUN TIME

FREEZY HAPPY RUN TIME

Look at me! I haven’t taken a running selfie in a long time, because I now run on the path by the road and not in the woods, so it’s not as pretty. I stopped running the path through the woods when I realized that’s where they keep all the snakes.

This was only what, twenty minutes ago? It was 38 degrees outside! Cold as hell but bright and sunny and I probably swallowed a cup of snot but I did it and it felt fabulous.

And I found a penny right after I took this running self, which I think bodes well for me in the new year. It’s a good omen for me.

penny

VERY EXCITED ABOUT THIS WHOLE PENNY THING!!!

Love, me

Leave a Reply

